Skip to main content

Young Adult Reads for April

Elizabeth Acevedo
Current price: $16.99
They tell me to “fix” my hair. And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten; but how do you fix this shipwrecked history of hair? In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Nikki Grimes
Current price: $18.99
From Children's Literature Legacy Award-winning author Nikki Grimes comes a feminist-forward new collection of poetry celebrating the little-known women poets of the Harlem Renaissance--paired with full-color, original art from today's most talented female African-American illustrators. For centurie ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Candice Iloh
Current price: $17.99
A Finalist for the National Book Award When Ada leaves home for her freshman year at a Historically Black College, it’s the first time she’s ever been so far from her family—and the first time that she’s been able to make her own choices and to seek her place in this new world. As she stumbles deepe ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Elizabeth Acevedo
Current price: $18.99
In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives. Camino Rios lives for the summers when her fath ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur, this heartrending story told in prose, poetry, and illustration weaves together the stories of a mother and daughter’s lives. In this stunning sophomore novel, acclaimed writer Jasmin Kaur explores trauma, fear, courage, community, and the healing ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Kwame Alexander, Mary Rand Hess
Current price: $15.99
Solo by Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess is a New York Times bestseller! Kirkus Reviews said Solo is, “A contemporary hero’s journey, brilliantly told.” Through the story of a young Black man searching for answers about his life, Solo empowers, engages, and encourages teenagers to move from hearta ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam
Current price: $19.99
New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor * Walter Award Winner * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal Best Book ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Joy McCullough
Current price: $11.99
"Haunting ... teems with raw emotion, and McCullough deftly captures the experience of learning to behave in a male-driven society and then breaking outside of it."—The New Yorker  "I will be haunted and empowered by Artemisia Gentileschi's story for the rest of my life."—Amanda Lovelace, bestsellin ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Ashley Woodfolk
Current price: $18.99
Five starred reviews! From New York Times bestselling author Ashley Woodfolk, Nothing Burns as Bright as You is an impassioned stand-alone tale of queer love, grief, and the complexity of female friendship. Two girls. One wild and reckless day. Years of tumultuous history unspooling like a thin, fra ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Kip Wilson
Current price: $18.99
A fascinating historical novel about Hilde, an orphan who experiences Berlin on the cusp of World War II as she discovers her own voice and sexuality, ultimately finding a family when she gets a job at a gay cabaret, by award-winning author Kip Wilson. On her eighteenth birthday, Hilde leaves her or ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days