Skip to main content

Middle Grade Reads for April

Various Contributors
Current price: $17.95
A moving #OwnVoices poetry collection written by young newcomers to Canada Carry On began in a high school in Outremont, Quebec, where author and poet Simon Boulerice conducted creative-writing workshops for young newcomers to Canada. As the students began writing, their poems gave voice to their re ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Megan E. Freeman
Current price: $8.99
A New York Times bestseller! Perfect for fans of Hatchet and the I Survived series, this harrowing middle grade debut novel-in-verse from a Pushcart Prize–nominated poet tells the story of a young girl who wakes up one day to find herself utterly alone in her small Colorado town. When twelve-year-ol ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Lisa Fipps
Current price: $8.99
A Printz Honor Winner! Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this highly acclaimed debut novel in verse. Ever since Ellie wore a whale swimsuit and made a big splash at her fifth birthday party, she’s been bullied about her weight. To cope, she tries to live by the Fat Gi ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Chris Baron
Current price: $16.99
"Highly recommended... Perfect for readers of Wonder and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe."— Booklist magazine, starred review Etan has stopped speaking since his mother left. His father and grandfather don’t know how to help him. His friends have given up on him. When Etan is asked to deliver a ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Jacqueline Woodson
Current price: $17.99
WINNER OF THE NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER OF THE CORETTA SCOTT KING AUTHOR AWARD National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson's stirring novel-in-verse explores how a family moves forward when their glory days have passed and the cost of professional sports on Black bodies. For as long as ZJ can remem ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Zetta Elliott, Lyn Miller-Lachmann
Current price: $19.99
"This novel in verse, alternately narrated by two boys in 1980s Greenpoint, Brooklyn, one channeled by Elliott and one by Miller-Lachmann, eloquently tackles race, culture and life on the spectrum." — The New York TimesFor fans of Jason Reynolds and Jacqueline Woodson, this middle-grade novel-in-ver ... Read More about
Meg Eden Kuyatt
Current price: $18.99
A Schneider Family Book Award Honor Book An extraordinary novel-in-verse for fans of Starfish and A Kind of Spark about a neurodivergent girl who comes to understand and celebrate her difference. Selah knows her rules for being normal. She always, always sticks to them. This means keeping her feelin ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Aimee Lucido
Current price: $16.99
In this heartfelt middle school drama, Hannah's schemes for throwing her own bat mitzvah unleash family secrets, create rivalries with best friends, and ultimately teach Hannah what being Jewish is all about. With a delicious mix of prose, poetry, and recipes, this hybrid novel is another fresh, tho ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Aida Salazar
Current price: $17.99
The dazzling story of a girl navigating friendship, family, and growing up, an Are You There God, It's Me Margaret? for the modern day, from debut author Aida Salazar. ****Four starred reviews!***** "A worthy successor to Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret set in present-day Oakland." -- Kirkus R ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Helen Frost
Current price: $18.99
A 2021 Scott O'Dell Award WinnerA Society of Midland Authors Winner in Children's FictionA Bank Street Best Book of the Year 2021 A novel in verse about a young deaf boy during World War II, the sister who loves him, and the conscientious objector who helps him. Inspired by true events. Henry has be ... Read More about